Mudpies of Life…

March 17, 2010

As a child I would ‘craft’ in the barren area of our backyard.  Rocks, dirt and water being the ingredients; a spoon or shovel the tool.  I would build habitation for the Flintstones, design my own universe or just make a muddy mess and be happy. 

Not and I (I being the operative worker) are preparing to undertake a gardening remodel project.  The action of which I find delightful; it is the planning I find stressful.  But, God is using this experience and to teach me wonderful spiritual insights as I pray my way through this mine-field of melding thoughts, desires, visions and goals. 

What do I truly want to achieve, in this or any endeavor?  To be more Christ-like ~ to hear His voice guiding my heart and actions.  I know He is preparing me for His eternity.  I want my reactive choices to be reflective of obedience to Him.  In the creation of gardens there is such a vast array of colors, shapes and textures to consider.  It is the same with Christians – each one is unique.  We can only grow spiritually by allowing God’s guidance, we will all grow differently, but together we will make a gorgeous garden!

Now my basic ingredients are: Christ (my Rock), repentance of my sin (dirt) and His shed blood (water) washing it away – faith is now my tool.  Think of the beautiful garden He desires to make in everyone’s life — He does not want us to be life’s mudpies, He wants us to reflect His glory and proclaim His love!!

 

Enjoy Spring and God’s blessings!!

 

 

Leave a comment