Up, Up and Away…

March 28, 2009

I’ve had a personal tradition for a very long time now.  When someone special in my life has died, I buy a helium balloon.  Uncommon, I know, but that’s me J.

 

I even buy a color that I relate to this person.  On this balloon I write all of the qualities possessed in their life that I would like to continue to reflect in mine.  I will also write ‘emotions’ or ‘expectations’ I may need to let go of at this time.  I spend quite a bit of time in this reflective period.  I take time to thank God for the blessing of this person, as each one of us adds to the character of another.

 

I have done this numerous times, there has always been an exceptional blessing as the balloon engages in one of God’s wind currents and moves upward.  I have no expectations of what they will do, but each one has been uniquely different in taking flight.  I am amazed.

 

February 2008 I launched a white balloon in honor of my dad.  He had died three months earlier and it was time I ended my grieving process and move forward with the wonderful legacy of love, gentleness and perseverance he showed throughout his life.  I stood on my deck and let go….but ‘he’ didn’t!  Just as a gentle breeze lifted the balloon, a stronger wind current stirred up rapidly and slammed it back down into a treetop where there was a broken branch making a natural nest area, just the right size.  It wedged up there among tiny branches and began looking like it could become a permanent fixture.  But, no, it was just lingering for those extra few moments that all of us wish we could have with our loved ones once again.  Lingering, tarrying for sweet time before another gust lifted it out of those branches and it began a slow journey upward amongst the clouds.

 

This year the Jewish holidays hold exceptionally special significance for Christians.  I have spent a lot of time researching and reading about them.  Yesterday, Thursday March 26 was what they call “Blessing on Blooming Trees.”  It is the first day that a prayer of blessing and thankfulness can be said when finding a fruit tree in bloom.

The prayer is:

Blessed are you God, our God, King of the universe, who left nothing lacking in His world, and created within it good creatures and good trees with which He gives pleasure to people.

 

As I was vacuuming this morning I was thinking of this, knowing we would be driving through numerous valleys of blooming fruit trees.  As I was pondering this special way of praise and blessing I happened to look out the window and saw a tree in bloom! 

 

Very strange as we are still in a ‘cold’ situation and nothing is remotely showing signs of spring.  I walked over to look, out of a vast copse of trees one was blooming. 

 

Dad’s tree.  A Blessing from a Blooming Tree.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

